It has been a rough couple of months. After all the issues at the old barn this spring (you know, the one the boys were at for only 2 months), stress at work (my current employment is through a staffing agency at a fast paced, demanding business with a high turnover rate), working at the barn to help cover board, personal drama, problems with my truck, etc etc….add to that now I am sick. A nasty cold had me sidelined this Labor Day Weekend, but I had to barn sit so dragged myself out anyway. Work did not go as well. I attempted to go back Tuesday but was forced to leave after 45 minutes, due to an elevated temperature, pounding headache and nonstop hacking cough.

Anywho. Since I am basically bedridden the rest of the day, I figured I’d update the blog.

Unfortunately, not all news is good news. Allow me to elaborate. Following is a summary of things as they stand with my 3 horses.

Siesta: Now a good weight. FINALLY eating what I give her. On SmartPituitary for Cushings (not cheap btw). However is apparently sometimes “off” behind (possible arthritis?) It’s nothing horrible but definitely not endurance sound. So, not being ridden for now.

Pokey: Also finally his ideal weight (this spring he was too fat, a few weeks ago too lean, but now good). His teeth are horrid (as we already know) and he has to have special hay (chopped alfalfa/grass mix. Yup, expensive). His wound healed up nicely, but now it has become apparent that he has anhidrosis. In other words sometime this summer he basically stopped sweating. He is now currently on a bottle of beer a day (Yuengling Black & Tan), electrolytes, and iodized salt. (This really upset me by the way. Unless something drastically changes he is now officially my daughter’s horse only. Essentially “retired”. *Cries into pillow*)

Justice: Apparently currently the only healthy horse I own. *face, palm*. Being boarded 30 minutes out of the way so I can have access to trails that will be “closed” for the next 4 months *bangs head on desk*.

So there you have it. And because no post is complete without pictures, I shall leave you with the following….

image
Finally his ideal weight!

image
Grace watching Pokey consume his beer mash.

image
Riding Pokey....trying to get him to sweat. It was a no go.

image
I look like crap... (but I was sick so I have an excuse).
image
Oh yeah and I got Pokey's likeness tattooed on my arm. Forgot to mention that.
image
Justice, sharing the water bucket. Big mean Morgan! 😉
image
Weird angle, but still a beautiful boy.
image
Siesta rolling. She sez life as a pasture pet is a-ok!
