I somehow managed to squeeze in a ride in on all 3 horses last weekend (well, technically it was Sunday/Monday but whatevs). I know I’ve been all about Siesta lately, but I can’t forget my boys! Because they are now 30 minutes away I’ve been forced to limit my visits to 3 a week. Even with my schedule as busy as it’s been, I got a couple good rides in between storms. (Seriously y’all we’ve been having some crazy weather this summer!)

image
Like this... (leaving the barn yesterday)...
image
And this...
image
And this...
image
And this... (windshield wipers on full blast...and this was by far NOT the worst of it!)
image
Or like this! (my phone was dead at this point, this is a user submitted photo from our local news website)
image
Oh yeah and this.

There is something about wild and uncontrolled and awesome about storms. Perhaps it’s the fact that they still have the grandeur and power to stop the world in it’s tracks, even in this modern day and age.

Anyway. On Sunday it was overcast when I arrived at the barn. Dark(er) clouds loomed on the horizon, but I didn’t hear any thunder. Considering it had been sunny and extremely hot and humid at my house, I was grateful.

image

Justice was hanging out under the trees with his new friend (also the only horse in the pasture who can boss him around).

image

Isn’t he cuuuute?! It’s hard to believe that this little guy is able to make my 16+h 1200lb beast move his feet, but I saw it with my own eyes last week!

image

Justice looked just thrilled that I picked him to ride (sarcasm). It’s also hard to believe he is the same horse who gave previous owners so much trouble…he has been next to perfect for me! (His only vice I’ve found is pulling back and attempting to break the lead if he doesn’t like something).

image

He was also drooling something fierce, as was his little buddy. I couldn’t figure it out as I didn’t really see any clover in their pasture. I’m sure there’s something I’m missing. Pokey was not drooling at all.

We started down the road and it soon became apparent it was about to pour. I heard the rain before I saw it…I could literally listen to the pattering of raindrops making its way toward us before we were drenched as well.

The cool thing about these storms…it can drop 10 degrees in 15 minutes. But the pavement was still warm and the road began steaming.

image

The above photo was taken toward the end of the storm, so it doesn’t accurately depict it. It got so “steamy” that it looked like a thick fog had taken over the whole area! It was raining so hard at one point that J and I took shelter under some trees along the side of the road. There was not an inch of my body that wasn’t drenched, and I worried about my phone. Thankfully it survived.

We eventually left the main road, in favor of exploring new trails.

image
image

image

image

Naturally the deer flies were TERRIBLE. They ended up driving us out of the woods far earlier than I would’ve liked. However it was still a great ride and I am pleased to report, we have lots of exploring yet to do!

On Monday it was Pokey’s turn! I didn’t want him to feel left out. 😉

image
image

Following an overgrown hunting trail.

image

I’ve missed these ears!

image

We turned around here. There were far too many flies (again!) and far too many briars. When I know we will be riding the trails I like the boys ( particularly Pokey) to wear splint boots when possible. I didn’t have them that day.

image

Handsome pony got lots of carrots!

image

He followed me around the pasture for a bit, looking for more carrots before settling down to graze.

image

image

Proof that Justice can get along with other horses. That’s him on the far left.

I love my boys. They are so special, both of them.

