This was supposed to be a post for wordless Wednesday but it was not wordless and for some reason refused to upload on Wednesday. Whatever. On Sunday, Siesta and I had an epic battle…only half of which was captured to to the fact that my, ahem, photographer (that is, my daughter) was more interested in capturing photos of butterflies and flowers.

However she did catch this.

image
She backed all the way from the arena to the barn.
image
Then tried to back through the door!

All hell broke loose at that point. I was pissed and she was just mad at me. Note to self: Don’t fight with horse. Horse will win.

image

After riding out 3 rears, spinning her in multiple circles and pony kicking her for several minutes, I had to take a minute to stop and breathe and calm down.

In retrospect I think it was all my fault. I was in a bad mood when I got on her (courtesy of a certain disobedient child) and she was likely just going off of that.

Eventually I got her to go forward, and then she naturally bolted lol.

image

She has a lovely canter, btw. Pardon my posture here. I look like I’m holding onto the saddle here but actually I was preparing to tighten my reins.

image

This little girl is legit tiny. MAYBE 13.1 hands. I was astounded when I saw the pics because I DON’T look huge on her. I am 5’4″ by the way.

image

I worked on figure 8’s, serpentine, and spiral circles with her for about 15 minutes. Just long enough to get her to settle down just a bit. It was hot out and I didn’t want to overdo it.

image

Toward the end of our ride. Our first in a saddle btw. It’s an old Euro with an adjustable gullet. Girth was a bit too big but otherwise seemed to work well.

image
With my daughter.
image
She got a nice cool soapy bath afterwards.
image
I also trimmed her feet. She has very good feet. 🙂

 

